

Minutes of the Extraordinary Caledonian Student Voice Meeting of Session 2022/23

Meeting held on Thursday 11th May 2023, online on MsTeams, at 15:30pm.

Sign In:

Present: Laiba Tareen (Student President); Jennifer Abali (VP SHLS); Chukwuma Egbujor (VP GSBS); John Mavileth (VP SCEBE); Hammad Amer (HA); Noemi Buracchi (NB); Kanwal Chaudhry (KC); Sofia Congradyova (SC); Lewechi Emeana (LE); David Grimm (DGR); Antonio Hegar (AH); Zoe Ingram (ZI); Pranali Khatri (PK); Liam Luporini (LL); Chidozie Nwaigwe (CN); Gino Obaseki (GO); Taiwo Olaleye (TO); Felix Oluwatobi Olowokere (FO); Bolaji Oyewo (BO); Hemantkumar Parmar (HP); Anoop Pk (AP); Louisa Richardson (LR); Jaike Robertson (JR); Peter Scheibenhoffer (PS); Priyaben Solanki (PSO); Aryan Srivastava (AS); Smit Trivedi (ST); Swati Yadav (SY)

Absent: Karolina Syrek (Chair); Loveth Ayetoba (LA); Ryan Brown (RB); Derthinn Bushell (DB); Eben Crichton (EC); Stefan Fisher (SF); Laura Fitzsimmons (LF); Joshua Foster (JF); Rachel-Louise Gibson (RG); Katy Gillespie (KG); River Gowans (RGO); Joel Jacob (JJ); Zubaida Kiran (ZK); Dorota Makaruk (DM); Jessica Michael-Odobi (JM); Aspen Milledge (AMI); Chris Opoku (CO); Pulaporn Sreewichian (PSR); Eilidh Stewart (ES); Daniel Williams (DW)

Apologies: Gordon Edwards (GE); Daniele Giustini (DG); Ahmer Riaz (AR); Miranda Romero Torres (MT)

In attendance: Sara MacLean (Student Voice Team Leader); Philip Morton (Clerk)

1. Chair Announcements

Due to The Chair not being in attendance, Kanwal Chaudhry was selected to chair the meeting on their behalf due to their position of Chair of Student Voice for the academic year of 2023/24.

It was noted that there were no observers in this meeting and that anonymous voting would take place over Mentimeter with all members in attendance confirmed as eligible to vote.

2. Motion of Censure: Ahmer Riaz, Vice Chair of Student Voice and SHLS PGT Rep

The Student President raised a motion of No Confidence on Ahmer Riaz, SHLS PGT Rep and Vice Chair of Student Voice.

In the absence of AR, the Student Voice Team Leader read the statement provided.

It was confirmed that there would be no discussion or questions on this matter and that there must be a two-thirds majority vote for this item to be approved.

The Chair called for a vote to approve the Motion of Censure: Ahmer Riaz, Vice Chair of Student Voice and SHLS PGT Rep.

Vote: For: 19; Against: 8; Abstentions: 1.

The Motion of Censure: Ahmer Riaz, Vice Chair of Student Voice and SHLS PGT Rep was approved.

The meeting was concluded at 16:05pm.